A short visit to the Museums of Kuwait


Made a short but quick visit to two museums last night – the Kuwait National Museum and Tareq Ragab Museum of Calligraphy.

I had been to the former once before (yes, once despite having lived here for 20 years!) but just read about the latter yesterday. While the ethnic heritage of Kuwait was exotically demonstrated in the National Museum, what really struck me was the visit to the Calligraphy Museum. I had read online that there were scriptures collected from as early as the 7th century in there.

#Kuwait #museum #heritage

A post shared by ഡൊ. വരുൺ (@vr_ooon) on

As a student, during my school days I had been taught the basics of the Arabic language. Calligraphic depiction of different timelines, from different parts of the Arab world as well as South East Asia left me awestruck. Numerous old scriptures, the paper having turned brown with jagged edges, fine architectural designs around the holy verses of the Quran was brilliant to absorb. My ignorance of the Holy Ka’aba was evident, but got a completely different perspective of it after last night. To be an arm’s distance away from the gold embroidered carpets that adorned the Ka’aba in the 19th century was totally worth it.

I was not shocked that the whole Museum was at the service of just me and my friend. People prefer to flock to the Malls here on a Saturday evening!

Some traveler tips:

Tareq Ragab Museum: http://www.trmkt.com/ Visit the official website for the history, location and timings if you want to pay a visit. Being a Hindu myself, I was in awe at what I saw. A must visit for Muslims visiting the country. It is exactly opposite the New English School in Block 12, Jabriya. Evening timings: 4pm – 7pm. Entry fee: 2K.D per person.

Tareq Ragab Calligraphy Museum

A post shared by ഡൊ. വരുൺ (@vr_ooon) on

Kuwait National Museum: I would recommend visiting it later on when the renovation work is done. I visited this place 18 months ago, whilst there is progress it is still a construction site from the outside and is not very appealing to visit right now. It is located on the Arabian Gulf Street beside the Seif Palace and the National Library of Kuwait.

img_4583-2

Wound up the evening with a nice veggie dinner at Saravana Bhavan. (coffee in pic). 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A short visit to the Museums of Kuwait

Leave a Reply

