United snoozefest against PSV


So the first day of the Champions league clash this week, I was really tired and I struggled to keep my eyes open, Bayern were scoring everytime I took a mini nap. It was 4-0 before HT and I decided that’s it, am gonna sleep. Next day since United was playing I made sure I had a good noon nap to remain fresh all throughout the night. Was disappointed HD was not playing the game. But at the end of the 90 minutes, I was glad it wasn’t on HD. The torture in slow motion would havemade me desist even the idea of watching Manchester United play this season.

Knowing that a win at home against PSV would leave us in a good position to move into the last 16 plus the added history of Shaw’s injury, I thought this might be the game where we avenged, at least for Shaw. But quite the contrary. The forward four of Rooney, Martial, Memphis and Lingaard that van Gaal employed were coming from a different patch. Rooney, absolutely awful this season and in the team for reason that only van Gaal understands, back from illness; Martial returning after a foot/ankle injury; Memphis in the side having returned from a goal scoring performance in the previous game. Memphis’ season has been one of those where his one sided game attacking from the left wing, combined by his lack of desire to put in a shift, meant he was dropped and was only called back cause of all the injuries opening him up a slot. With Ashley Young fit and available, I believe he was a much better alternative to Memphis with Darmian also going through a patch.

But the performance was so tepid, with lack of desire that waiting for the torture of 90 min to end was so infuriating that I wished PSV won this game. Had they scored, maybe we would have at least had a change in momentum. The players off the bench, especially Fellaini who is so sparingly used this season, I believe should leave the club to one where he starts everyday.

I hope United get a thrashing at Wolfsburg and to start with get beat by the league leaders this weekend. To see united performing so bad and finishing in top 4 is something I would rather not want. Please play football van Gaal. Enough of this f****osophy!

Leave a Reply

