The ‘Up’bringing


At work on a regular day.

Scene 1 – The Educated

*gentle double knock on my office door*

Me: (shouts out) COME IN.
Patient: Good morning Doctor, sorry to disturb you, may I come in?

Me: Good morning, please come in. How may I help you today?
Patient: Sir, I just did my CT scan half an hour back. Am traveling today evening, if you could please fast track my report today itself, I would be really grateful!

*I review what his study is*

Me: All right, why don’t you come back in an hour and collect it?
Patient: That would be wonderful, thank you so much doctor. May God bless you.

*gently tiptoes out of my room and closes the door.   


reading-circle-clip-art-gallery-dntxqm-clipart


Scene 2 – The Ignorant

*shuffling noises in the corridor and the door slams open*

Appearance wise looks like a teenager; dressed to go to the beach in a T-shirt, shorts and slippers

Patient: I want a scan to be done today?
Me: Who are you? Who sent you here?

Patient: I was told you decide if a scan can be done.
Me: No.

Patient: Then who is responsible?
Me: Second room at the end of the corridor.

Patient: And who is that?
Me: Head of the Department.

*slams door and shuffles out


up·bring·ing
noun
noun upbringing plural noun upbringings
  1. the treatment and instruction received by a child from its parents throughout its childhood.
    Synonyms: childhood, early life, formative years, teaching, education, instruction, tutelage, care, rearing, raising, breeding

It is easier to build up a child than is to fix an adult. Children are great imitators, so give them something really good to work on!

Leave a Reply

