The MOTOway


Two years ago, one fine evening I accompanied my friend to the Samsung Store to buy a Samsung Galaxy Note. I was randomly exploring the phones on display as we waited for the purchase to be completed. Little did I know that I would be falling in love with a windows phone in a store riddled with Android agents!

VBDSC_0770

VBDSC_0773Omnia Wonder, the sequel to the Omnia, the only two Samsung smartphones to ever carry the Windows Os is likely to never ring a bell to the smartphone user world. When I came across it, I had not even heard of it. And even to date, not many know it exists.

What started off as googling up this phone after loving the lightning fast screen response, moved me into saving a month’s salary to buy this innocent beauty.

VBDSC_0774For two years, it performed with ease. The last 6 months I struggled to find a genuine battery replacement. Muddled by the success of the Android market, Samsung obliged to forget this phone. I had to opt for a fake battery eventually, but the OS never wavered. Never had a single crash. Dropped it a few times, but it came unscathed. Left it in my pocket for two years, just a single 5mm scratch.

I was seriously contemplating moving back into the world of Google, my first love. Moto G impressed me as the tough, rugged fellow, born out of Google’s womb with all its natural flavors. I added it to my wishlist on flipkart.

Five days ago, I received an SMS alert. Exchange your old and get 4000/- off the Moto X . I did not hesitate. I knew the time was right.

VBDSC_0776

For a person who always loved the freedom of the Android, Kit Kat is awesome. To see notifications on your phone by merely holding it in your hand is remarkable. Good riddance of hitting the power button everytime to take you to the display. The ergonomics of the body is perfect grip for a single hand. Voice clarity is something that I missed. The dual core processor goes beyond its expectations. Am yet to test battery life and push the RAM. But I am happy with a not so big 4.7” screen with appearances pretty similar to my predecessor phone.

VBDSC_0799VBDSC_0789

Leave a Reply

