Movie Review: NERAM [Malayalam]


I think TIME is probably the word I have spoken about most often in this blogsite of mine, how I find it so hard to find it. Well, it was a weekend, a pretty long one. Needed to recuperate from a few moral set backs, and thought I should cap the weekend off with a movie and start afresh.

I have this as my caller tune ever since I came across this video last year. A simple song, a beautiful girl and it talks about love. Well when I saw the trailer to this movie, I decided to go for it.

Sprinkled with humor all along its course, it studies the  rule of nature – A bad time is always followed by a good one and vice versa. Nivin being the unfortunate lad in this movie – he tries to relaunch his career and handle the love of his life as things go awry in every possible way for him. The movie builds up with a first person giveaway of the plot and moves into the heart of the movie with a couple of soothing music numbers. The characters etched by Alphonse Putharen from the cop named Tintu to the Monik (Manikunju) leave an indelible mark on you as you set out of the theatre.

With a run time of just about an hour and a half, there is enough amount of humor to keep the show going. The only downside  I could pessimistically claim is the use of ‘slo mo’ in the movies lately. I feel maybe this has gone to the high end of the normal limit. Apart from that it is indeed an entertainer for all that it promises to deliver.

Seeing Nazriya on screen for the first time and I have to admit she is pretty good! Cameos from Manoj K Jayan and more important characters by Shammi Thilakan do burn down the screen with their acting prowess.

The choice of characters – and their deliverance is invariably the high of the movie. If this is what Alphonse had in mind to put across, am pretty sure he has got his job done all right!

 

My rating : 4/5

One thought on “Movie Review: NERAM [Malayalam]

Leave a Reply

